Skip to main content
How to Be Remembered: A Novel

How to Be Remembered: A Novel

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN:
9781728265803
Pages:
368
Currently Out of Stock, Usually Ships to Book Ends in 1 to 5 Business Days

Description

You'll be grinning through your tears as you read this "big-hearted" (The Guardian) and magical tale, perfect for fans of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue and The Midnight Library.

A man who can never be remembered.

A journey he'll never forget. 

On an ordinary night in an ordinary year, Tommy Llewellyn's doting parents wake in a home without toys and diapers, without photos of their baby scattered about, and without any idea that the small child asleep in his crib is theirs.

That's because Tommy is a boy destined to never be remembered.

On the same day every year, everyone around him forgets he exists, and he grows up enduring his own universal Reset. That is until something extraordinary happens: Tommy Llewellyn falls in love.

Determined to finally carve out a life for himself and land the girl of his dreams, Tommy sets out on a mission to finally trick the Reset and be remembered. But legacies aren't so easily won, and Tommy must figure out what's more important—the things we leave behind or the people we bring along with us.

With the speculative edge of How to Stop Time, the unending charm of Maria Semple, and the heart of your favorite book club read, How to Be Remembered is a life-affirming novel about discovering how to leave your mark on the places and people you love most.

About the Author

Michael Thompson spent fifteen years working in the Australian media, where he won multiple awards for radio and journalism. His time is now divided between writing books and podcasting from his home in Sydney, where he lives with his wife and two children. All The Perfect Days is his second novel. Michael's first book, How To Be Remembered, was published internationally in 2023, translated into six languages, and is currently being adapted into a film.

Praise for How to Be Remembered: A Novel

"How to Be Remembered wears its heart proudly, earnest in the way of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button or, dare I say, Forrest Gump." — The Guardian

"Original, engrossing, sweet" — Graeme Simsion, New York Times bestselling author of The Rosie Project

"With turns of poignant hilarity and quiet grief, How to Be Remembered is sure to be a new favorite for readers who enjoyed V. E. Schwab's The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue. . .a stunning tale." — Booklist, STARRED review

"An inspiring novel about how everyone makes an impact, even after the world forgets them." — Foreword Reviews

"Enthralling…a story of optimism in the face of one of the hardest things to overcome: an existence where no one knows you exist." — Kirkus Reviews

"How to Be Remembered is my favorite kind of book: a story with a 'wow' factor. Michael Thompson has taken a fun and intriguing idea -- a big idea -- and turned it into a wonderful, humorous, very human ride." — Michael Poore, author of Reincarnation Blues

"An engrossing story about keeping determination, hard work and hope steady despite adversities. A coming of age with an intriguing supernatural twist, How to Be Remembered will inspire you to hang on tight to what you hold dear and will rekindle your appreciation for what it means to be human" — Sarah Jost, author of Five First Chances

"In Tommy Llewelyn, Michael Thompson has created a character you cannot help but root for, and built a plot as intricate as the workings of a clock. It is a brilliant exploration of what makes one’s life indelible and is a story you won’t soon forget." — Ann Dávila Cardinal, author of The Storyteller’s Death