Skip to main content
Follow the Sun

Follow the Sun

Current price: $18.00
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Publisher:
Random House Canada
ISBN:
9781039007178
Pages:
352
Currently Out of Stock, Usually Ships to Book Ends in 1 to 5 Business Days

Description

“Locke's novel is a travelog of epic proportions, an enticing love story and an emotionally resonant tale of the empowerment of following one's dreams that is as sleek and chic as an episode of Mad Men.” —Entertainment Weekly

For fans of Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins, Follow The Sun paints a portrait of the 1960s International Jet Set Era through the eyes of an aspiring singer-songwriter, desperate to forge her own path in music and in love. Readers will delight in this sun-drenched trip through a world of fashion, film, and sixties pop culture, written with an emotional, heartbreaking voice reminiscent of Chanel Cleeton.

For socialite Caroline Kimball, travel has become an escape—a way to run from her adult responsibilities while hiding her musical ambitions from her disapproving mother. When she meets handsome magazine photographer Jack “Tex” Fairchild beside a hotel pool in Acapulco, everything changes. His encouragement shows her she could have a life beyond that of a beautiful, bored heiress, and he convinces her that maybe her childish daydreams aren’t so impossible after all.

Realizing she no longer fits inside her golden cage, Caroline leaves it all behind and runs away with Tex to a small Spanish island, where she finally confronts the tragic death of her father. But when her mother's hidden secrets catch up to her, and a ghost from her past makes a surprising reappearance, Caroline will find herself torn between her whirlwind relationship with Tex, pursuing her music career, or saving her family from financial destitution.

Across the stunning beaches of Acapulco and down the powdered ski slopes of Gstaad, Follow the Sun will take readers from the turquoise waters of Formentera to the Sunset Strip, telling a captivating story about following your dreams to discover the person you were always meant to become.

About the Author

Liz Locke is the founder of CinemaSips.com, a weekly guide to cocktail and movie pairings, as well as a frequent contributor to Moviejawn. Originally from western Pennsylvania, she now lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband and very adorable rescue dog. When not writing or watching her favorite classic films, she can usually be found with a cocktail in one hand and a book in the other.

Praise for Follow the Sun

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR FOLLOW THE SUN

"Set against dreamy backdrops and swirling with nostalgia, Liz Locke's debut is truly a stunner. It's a story about finding choices when it seems there are none, and chasing dreams that are as daunting as they are alluring. Readers will want to climb into the pages of this book as they are immersed in the world of Follow the Sun." - Annette Christie, author of The Rehearsals and For Twice in My Life.

"Liz Locke's Follow the Sun takes readers into the lushly glamorous world of the '60s Jet Set. Locke writes with the historical resonance of Chanel Cleeton and the lyrical emotionality of Taylor Jenkins Reid, as she takes us from Acapulco to the snowy Alps to a tiny island off the coast of Spain and beyond. Follow the Sun is an arresting, unputdownable tale of what it means to find and honor your truest self, and it's easily my pick for my favorite read of the year! It's as sleek and enticing as a Slim Aarons photo and goes down with the fizzy ease of a perfectly mixed cocktail. Reading Follow the Sun will make readers want to turn up the hi-fi and get lost in the sunset days of the swinging sixties." – Maureen Lee Lenker, author of It Happened One Fight.

“Locke's novel is a travelog of epic proportions, an enticing love story and an emotionally resonant tale of the empowerment of following one's dreams that is as sleek and chic as an episode of Mad Men.” —Entertainment Weekly