Skip to main content
Edenville: A Horror Novel

Edenville: A Horror Novel

Current price: $30.00
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Publisher:
William Morrow
ISBN:
9780063252240
Pages:
336
BOOK ENDS Winchester
1 on hand, as of Feb 21 1:20pm
(HORROR)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

"[A]n essential read for horror enthusiasts." —Booklist

An unsettling, immersive, and wildly entertaining debut novel from "a major new talent!" (R.L. Stine), for fans of Paul Tremblay and Stephen Graham Jones.

"[A] delightfully gooey blend of gothic, cosmic, folk and body horror churned by a sharp-bladed critique of academia."— Lucy A. Snyder, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Sister, Maiden, Monster

After publishing his debut novel, The Shattered Man, to disappointing sales and reviews, Campbell P. Marion is struggling to find inspiration for a follow-up. When Edenville College invites him to join as a writer-in-residence, he’s convinced that his bad luck has finally taken a turn. His girlfriend Quinn isn’t so sure—she grew up near Edenville and has good reasons for not wanting to move back. Cam disregards her skepticism and accepts the job, with Quinn reluctantly following along.

But there’s something wrong in Edenville. Despite the charming old ladies milling about Main Street and picturesque sunflowers dotting the sidewalks, poison lurks beneath the surface. As a series of strange and ominous events escalate among Edenville and its residents, Cam and Quinn find themselves entangled in a dark and disturbing history.

Told with equal parts horror and humor, Edenville explores the urban legends that fuel our nightmares and the ways in which ambition can overshadow our best instincts. Sam Rebelein is an exciting, sharp new voice, sure to terrify readers for years to come.

“The mundane horrors of rural and academic living collide with pure cosmic weirdness in Sam Rebelein’s Edenville. Not since Jason Pargin’s John Dies at the End have I been so horrified and grossed out by a book…I could say more, but honestly, the less you know about this book, the better. A fantastic debut.”— Todd Keisling, Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Devil’s Creek and Cold, Black & Infinite

About the Author

Sam Rebelein holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. His work has appeared in Bourbon Penn, Planet Scumm, Shimmer, Ellen Datlow’s The Best Horror of the Year, and elsewhere. Edenville is his first novel.

Praise for Edenville: A Horror Novel

"There are many campus horror novels, but I think Edenville gets an A for AAAAAAIIIIIII! Sam Rebelein should be awarded a Masters Degree in SCARY. A major new talent!
R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps and Fear Street

"Edenville marks a riveting debut that positions Rebelein as a noteworthy talent in the horror genre...an essential read for horror enthusiasts, especially fans of Grady Hendrix and Paul Tremblay." — Booklist

“[A]n entertainingly bonkers tale infused with so much unease and danger that it is literally dripping from Cam’s eyes. It is a story that explores the cosmic and folk horror tropes to their furthest reaches while also providing a scathing critique of academia, especially MFA programs, all wrapped up in one wild ride of a read.” — Library Journal

"Rebelein’s debut is its own wild and woolly beast, frequently unpredictable and frankly utterly insane at times... I hope I get to go back to Renfield County again, before too long." — Literary Hub

"A wild ride from start to finish, with a heavy dose of humor thrown into the mix." — Crime Reads

"In Edenville, there's a captivating and equally irresistible kind of frenetic intensity pulsing from each and every page—the raw, powerful energy of a new, uninhibited talent in horror fiction. Sam Rebelein possesses the skillset of a venerated master and Edenville is a truly imaginative debut." — Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke

“Rebelein sprinkles his wild and unpredictable narrative with pop culture references and a gleeful smattering of profanity, setting his voice apart.” — Publishers Weekly

"Edenville is a delightfully gooey blend of gothic, cosmic, folk and body horror churned by a sharp-bladed critique of academia." — Lucy A. Snyder, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of Sister, Maiden, Monster

"Nobody is writing the uncanny like Sam Rebelein. Edenville is an immersive, visceral, unsettling metafictional tale that lures you into the shadows, and then slowly expands your mind to the horrors that were always there. It's Chuck Palahniuk mixed with Clive Barker and Stephen Graham Jones to create a funny, heartbreaking, original piece of fiction." — Richard Thomas, author of Spontaneous Human Combustion, a Bram Stoker finalist

"A mind-bending experience, Edenville is a transportive read that burrows down into the center of your mind and refuses to let go. There’s beauty and squick in these pages, and at its core, a whole lotta fun." — Kristi DeMeester, author of Such a Pretty Smile

"Edenville is a tour de force of horror writing. The eerie atmosphere and building intensity will have you on the edge of your seat, while the sharply drawn characters and nightmarish imagery will keep you hooked from start to finish. Fans of Clive Barker and Stephen King at the peak of their powers won't want to miss this one.” — Tim Waggoner, author of A Hunter Called Night

“The mundane horrors of rural and academic living collide with pure cosmic weirdness in Sam Rebelein’s Edenville. Not since Jason Pargin’s John Dies at the End have I been so horrified and grossed out by a book, nor have I gleefully whispered “what the fuck” so much while turning the pages. I could say more, but honestly, the less you know about this book, the better. A fantastic debut. Go Crows!” — Todd Keisling, Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Devil’s Creek and Cold, Black & Infinite

"Edenville reinvents the small-town scary story as an onslaught of comedy, horror, and grotesquerie. Great, blood-curdling fun." — Stephanie Feldman, author of Saturnalia

"Sam Rebelein's Edenville is pure cosmic gonzo...This jaw-dropping -- apologies, jaw-ripping -- novel earns its place amongst contemporary classics The Library at Mount Char and The Book of Accidents. You won't read anything quite like it... not in our universe, anyway." — Clay McLeod Chapman, author of Ghost Eaters